Insomnia Song

And so now you would believe me that insomnia or sleeplessness is in fact a widespread problem among all ages. So widespread that a song especially dedicated to insomnia had been written and sung. And not only sung, it even became one of the band’s most successful song! Quite amazing, isn’t it?

Insomnia Song

Photo Credit : Wikipedia

Insomnia“, as a title song, was recorded by the British dance group Faithless and was released as the band’s second single.

Faithless was a British electronica band consisting of Maxi Jazz, Sister Blitz and Rollo. The group is best known for their dance songs. The band officially split in 2011.

As I told you, the “Insomnia” song went on to become one of their most successful numbers. The song was released in 1995 and was a hit in Dance Charts, peaking at number 27 in the UK in 1995 and number 1 in 1996. It even reached number 48 on the UK charts when it re – entered in 2005, which clearly shows its longevity and even of the condition about which it speaks.

The album version of the song is nearly nine minutes long and contains some explicit content. There even exists a remixed version of the “Insomnia” song.

The song features Maxi Jazz singing as an insomniac while he struggles to sleep (“I toss and I turn without cease, like a curse, open my eyes and rise like yeast”). The subject is resonant with fans of dance music, since stimulant use is common in club / rave culture, and insomnia is a normal side effect (“At least a couple of weeks since I last slept, kept takin’ sleepers, but now I keep myself pepped“). The insomnia is also rather destitute (“Make my way to the refrigerator/ One dry potato inside, no lie, not even bread, jam…”).

Following are the full lyrics of the “Insomnia Song

Deep in the bosom of the gentle night

Is when I search for the light

Pick up my pen and start to write

I struggle, fight dark forces

In the clear moonlight

Without fear… insomnia

I can’t get no sleep

I used to worry, thought I was goin’ mad in a hurry

Gettin’ stress, makin’ excess mess in darkness

No electricity, something’s all over me, greasy

Insomnia please release me and let me dream of

Makin’ mad love to my girl on the heath

Tearin’ off tights with my teeth

But there’s no release, no peace

I toss and turn without cease

Like a curse, open my eyes and rise like yeast

At least a couple of weeks

Since I last slept, kept takin’ sleepers

But now I keep myself pepped

Deeper still, that night I write by candle light

I find insight, fundamental movement, uh

So when it’s black this insomniac take an original tack

Keep the beast in my nature under ceaseless attack

I gets no sleep

I can’t get no sleep

You might also like:

Leave a comment